NAIC International Fellows Program

Last Updated 10/9/17

Building on the success of the China Intern-Pilot Program in 2004, NAIC developed a formal International Internship Program in 2005 to advance working relations with foreign markets, emphasizing the exchange of regulatory techniques and technology. The program was formally renamed the International Fellows program in 2010. The Fellows participate in a week-long orientation program in Kansas City, MO, focusing on the broad principles of insurance regulation in the United States. Each Fellow then travels to a different state for four-five weeks, working in technical areas of their specialization under the supervision of a state insurance department staff member, who serves as a mentor and host.

The NAIC welcomed eleven fellows to the International Fellows Program on October 9 at the Central Office in Kansas City. Countries represented this fall include Argentina, Bermuda, Brazil, the Czech Republic, India, Panama, Taiwan, and Thailand. Host jurisdictions are Louisiana, Missouri, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas.

The program will conclude in New York City, NY with training at the NAIC Capital Markets Bureau and Securities Valuation Office, as well as a roundtable with U.S. insurance industry representatives and a ceremonial graduation dinner to highlight the fellows' accomplishments. The NAIC Fellows Program is conducted twice a year — spring and fall.

Over 270 participants from 34 countries have participated in the training program. In addition, since 2006, we have had eight secondees from Korea hosted in either California or Hawaii. Thirty-eight U.S. jurisdictions have hosted these non-U.S. regulators, including: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia and West Virginia. We look forward to additional jurisdictions joining this growing list.

View Hi Res Image