News Release


NAIC on Facebook

NAIC on Twitter

NAIC Linked In

NAIC News Feed (RSS)



INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (Aug. 27, 2013) -The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) adopted the Process for Developing and Maintaining the NAIC List of Qualified Jurisdictions, which is a process to evaluate the reinsurance supervisory systems of non-U.S. jurisdictions for reinsurance collateral reduction purposes.

The 2011 revisions to the Credit for Reinsurance Model Law and Regulation require an assuming insurer to be licensed and domiciled in a qualified jurisdiction in order to be eligible for certification by a state as a certified reinsurer. The Reinsurance Task Force was charged with developing a list of jurisdictions recommended for recognition by the states as qualified jurisdictions. Under the model law, states must consider this list when approving qualified jurisdictions.

"The reduction of reinsurance collateral requirements has been a priority for the NAIC and the states for more than a decade, and the adoption of this process brings us closer to achieving this goal," said Jim Donelon, NAIC President and Louisiana Insurance Commissioner. "As one of the states that have adopted reinsurance collateral reform, we look forward to starting the review process and beginning to certify reinsurers from qualified jurisdictions."

The next step in the process will be to begin the expedited review of the four jurisdictions that have previously been approved by individual states: Bermuda, Germany, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

"We hope to have these jurisdictions approved as conditional qualified jurisdictions before the end of the year," said Michael F. Consedine, Chair of the NAIC Reinsurance Task Force and Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner. "We look forward to working with regulators from these jurisdictions, as well as the Federal Insurance Office and other federal authorities interested in this process."

Currently, 18 states have adopted the revisions to allow for collateral reduction. Insurers domiciled in these 18 states write approximately 53% of the primary insurance premium in the U.S.  A number of additional states are currently considering similar proposals.    

About the NAIC

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) is the U.S. standard-setting and regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Through the NAIC, state insurance regulators establish standards and best practices, conduct peer review, and coordinate their regulatory oversight. NAIC staff supports these efforts and represents the collective views of state regulators domestically and internationally. NAIC members, together with the central resources of the NAIC, form the national system of state-based insurance regulation in the U.S. For more information, visit

Insure U Get Smart About Insurance



Communications Division


Scott Holeman

Communications Director


Jeremy Wilkinson

Electronic Communications



Miun Gleeson

Sr. Communications Specialist


Erin Johnson

Communications Specialist


Carly Halvorson




Visit the NEWSROOM for media resources, archived releases and alerts


Join Our E-mail List to receive the latest news releases and other information from the NAIC Communications Division.


        [ NAIC Web Site | State Insurance Department Sites | Copyright & Reprint Info | Privacy Statement ]

©2018 National Association of Insurance Commissioners. All rights reserved.