2016 Fall National Meeting
Miami, Florida
Friday, December 9, 2016
3:00 – 5:00 p.m.
Fontainebleau Miami—Flicker 1-3—Level 4

Conference Call
Eric King, Conductor
Thursday, November 17, 2016
12:30 p.m. PT/ 1:30 p.m. MT/ 2:30 p.m. CT/ 3:30 p.m. ET
Duration: 1 hour

Cancer Tables Report
Please send comments to Eric King by the close of business on October 6, 2016.

AHIP GLTD Proposal
ACLI GLTD Proposal
Please send comments to Eric King by close of business on October 21, 2016.

There are no related materials at this time.

Related NAIC Publications

Contacts

Health Actuarial (B) Task Force

 

Mission

The mission of the Health Actuarial (B) Task Force is to identify, investigate and develop solutions to actuarial problems in the health insurance industry.

2016 Charges

Ongoing Maintenance of NAIC Programs, Products or Services

The Health Actuarial (B) Task Force will:

  1. Work with the Society of Actuaries (SOA) and the American Academy of Actuaries (Academy) to develop a replacement for the 1985 Commissioners Individual Disability Income Table. Ensure the Health Insurance Reserves Model Regulation (#10) remains open to accommodate the new table.—Important

  2. Work with the Academy and SOA to develop a replacement for the 1985 NAIC Cancer Claim Cost Tables as the basis for the valuation of individual cancer policies. Request Model #10 be opened to accommodate the new table.—Important

  3. Provide recommendations, as appropriate, to address issues and provide actuarial assistance and commentary with respect to model rules for appropriate long-term care insurance rates, rating practices and rate changes.—Important

  4. Study the minimum standards applicable to statutory reserves for long-term care insurance. Ensure Model #10 remains open to accommodate any necessary changes to the standards. Begin developing a principle-based framework for a set of minimum standards.—Important

  5. Review the Medicare supplement refund formula.—Important

  6. Provide support for issues related to implementation of the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA).—Essential

  7. Begin to develop health insurance reserving requirements (VM-25, Health Insurance Reserves Minimum Reserve Requirements) using a principle-based reserving (PBR) methodology. Long-term care insurance should be a priority. Request Model #10 be opened to accommodate the new requirements.—Important

  8. Submit VM-25 changes to the Life Actuarial (A) Task Force for publication in the Valuation Manual.—Important

  9. Develop long-term care insurance experience reporting requirements in VM-50, Experience Reporting Requirements, and VM-51, Experience Reporting Formats, of the Valuation Manual.—Important

  10. Provide recommendations, as appropriate, to address issues and provide actuarial assistance and commentary to other NAIC groups relative to their work on health actuarial matters.—Important

NAIC Support Staff: Eric King