News Release


NAIC on Facebook

NAIC on Twitter

NAIC Linked In

NAIC News Feed (RSS)



WASHINGTON, D.C. (Dec. 18, 2013) Members of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) today elected its 2014 officers:
President: North Dakota Insurance Commissioner Adam Hamm
President-Elect: Montana State Auditor and Commissioner of Securities and Insurance Monica J. Lindeen
Vice President: Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner Michael F. Consedine
Secretary-Treasurer: Kentucky Insurance Commissioner Sharon P. Clark
The newly elected officers will assume their duties on Jan. 1, 2014.
Adam Hamm was appointed North Dakota Insurance Commissioner in October 2007, elected to a four-year term in 2008 and re-elected in November 2012. Prior to becoming commissioner, he served as a prosecutor for the Cass County State Attorney's office. Hamm also worked as an attorney in private practice specializing in commercial litigation, administrative agency law and transportation law. Hamm is a graduate of Sam Houston State University and received his Juris Doctorate degree with distinction from the University of North Dakota School of Law.
Monica J. Lindeen was elected Montana State Auditor and Commissioner of Securities and Insurance in 2008 and re-elected in November 2012. Lindeen is Chair of the NAIC Exchanges Subgroup and serves on a number of task forces related to implementing health insurance reform. Lindeen served in the Montana House of Representatives from 1999-2006. From 1994-1996, she was a part-time faculty member in the Montana State University (MSU) Billings English Department and taught simultaneously as a graduate assistant in the Department of Educational Foundations. Lindeen earned a bachelor's degree in English/History from MSU Billings.
Michael F. Consedine was appointed Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner in April 2011. From 1995-1999, he served as department counsel for the Pennsylvania Insurance Department, where he represented the department in litigation proceedings and on transactional filings. Consedine is Chair of the NAIC Reinsurance Task Force, Vice Chair of the Health Care Reform Regulatory Alternatives Working Group, and Vice Chair of the Interstate Insurance Product Regulation Commission (IIPRC). He serves on the Federal Advisory Committee on Insurance which advises the Federal Insurance Office on national and international insurance matters. A graduate of James Madison University, Consedine earned his bachelor's degree in political science and journalism, and is an honors graduate of Widener University School of Law.

Sharon P. Clark was appointed Commissioner of the Kentucky Department of Insurance in July 2008 and was reappointed to the post in July 2012. Clark was the first director of the department's Consumer Protection and Education division, a position she held for five years. She currently serves as a member of the NAIC‘s Executive Committee, Internal Administration Subcommittee, and Chair of the NAIC‘s Market Regulation and Consumer Affairs Committee. Clark earned bachelor‘s and master‘s degrees from the University of Kentucky.

About the NAIC

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) is the U.S. standard-setting and regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Through the NAIC, state insurance regulators establish standards and best practices, conduct peer review, and coordinate their regulatory oversight. NAIC staff supports these efforts and represents the collective views of state regulators domestically and internationally. NAIC members, together with the central resources of the NAIC, form the national system of state-based insurance regulation in the U.S. For more information, visit


Insure U Get Smart About Insurance



Communications Division


Scott Holeman

Communications Director


Jeremy Wilkinson

Sr. Electronic Communications



Miun Gleeson

Sr. Communications Specialist


Erin Yang

Media Strategist


Carly Erickson




Visit the NEWSROOM for media resources, archived releases and alerts


Join Our E-mail List to receive the latest news releases and other information from the NAIC Communications Division.


        [ NAIC Web Site | State Insurance Department Sites | Copyright & Reprint Info | Privacy Statement ]

©2018 National Association of Insurance Commissioners. All rights reserved.