NAIC on Facebook

NAIC on Twitter

NAIC Linked In

NAIC News Feed (RSS)



WASHINGTON, D.C. (Nov. 21, 2012) — The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) recently named 29 consumer liaison representatives for 2013. The 20 funded and nine unfunded consumer representatives begin their terms Jan. 1, 2013. All 20 of the funded consumer representatives participated in the program in 2012.

Established in 1992, the program promotes consumer interaction with the NAIC‘s members, the insurance industry and interested parties through the individuals‘ dedication and commitment to serving the public interest.

“This program recognizes the importance of consumer viewpoints in our regulatory discussions,” said Jim Donelon, NAIC President-Elect and Louisiana Insurance Commissioner. “The consumer liaison representatives provide valuable insight that is instrumental in our goal to improve the insurance regulatory system.”

"I have had the privilege of working closely for many years with the nation's consumer representatives who participate in our programs and conferences," said Wayne Goodwin, Chairman of the NAIC Consumer Participation Board of Trustees and North Carolina Insurance Commissioner. "I'm very pleased with the credentials, expertise and energy presented by our newly appointed consumer representative appointments, and congratulate them for offering themselves for this public service."

The following are the 2013 NAIC funded consumer liaison representatives:

Elizabeth Abbott: Project Director, Health Access

Amy Bach: Executive Director, United Policyholders

Birny Birnbaum: Center for Economic Justice

Brendan M. Bridgeland: Director, Center for Insurance Research

Bonnie Burns: Training and Policy Specialist, California Health Advocate

Sabrina Corlette: Research Professor, Georgetown University Health Policy Institute

Brenda J. Cude: Professor, University of Georgia

Joseph P. Ditre': Executive Director, Consumers for Affordable Health Care

Kathleen Gmeiner: Project Director, UHCAN Ohio

Timothy Stoltzfus Jost: Professor, Washington and Lee University School of Law

Karrol Kitt: Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin

Peter Kochenburger: Executive Director, Insurance Law Center, University of Connecticut School of Law

Sonja L. Larkin-Thorne: Consumer Advocate

Adam Linker: Health Policy Analyst, North Carolina Justice Center

Sarah Lueck: Health Policy Analyst, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Jennifer Mishory: Deputy Director, Young Invincibles

Andrea Routh: Executive Director, Missouri Health Advocacy Alliance

Daniel Schwarcz: Associate Professor of Law, University of Minnesota Law School

Barbara Yondorf: Board Member, Colorado Consumer Health Initiative

Cindy Zeldin: Executive Director, Georgians for a Healthy Future

In addition, there are nine unfunded consumer representatives (7 returning from 2012 and 2 new as noted with an asterisk*):

Christine Barber: Senior Policy Analyst, Community Catalyst*

Stephen Finan: Senior Director of Policy, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network

Carrie Fitzgerald: Senior Policy Advisor for Health, First Focus

Howard Goldblatt: Director of Government Affairs, Coalition Against Insurance Fraud

Marguerite Herman: Project Healthcare, Consumer Advocates

Stephanie Mohl: Government Relations Manager, American Heart Association

Lincoln Nehring: Senior Health Policy Analyst, Voices for Utah Children*

Lynn Quincy: Senior Policy Analyst, Consumers Union

Stuart Spielman: Senior Policy Advisor and Counsel, Autism Speaks


About the NAIC

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) is the U.S. standard-setting and regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Through the NAIC, state insurance regulators establish standards and best practices, conduct peer review, and coordinate their regulatory oversight. NAIC staff supports these efforts and represents the collective views of state regulators domestically and internationally. NAIC members, together with the central resources of the NAIC, form the national system of state-based insurance regulation in the U.S. For more information, visit

You are currently subscribed to the “NAIC News Release” electronic service. For information regarding this service, please contact the NAIC Communications Division, 1100 Walnut Street, Suite 1500, Kansas City, MO 64106, 816-783-8909.

To unsubscribe from NAIC Electronic Services, send a blank e-mail to
NAIC Opt Out



Communications Division
(816) 783-8909

Scott Holeman

Jeremy Wilkinson
Sr. Electronic Communications

Miun Gleeson
Sr. Communications

Vanessa Sink

Erin Johnson
Communications Specialist

Lindsey Kriegshauser
Communications Coordinator

Visit the NEWSROOM to search news releases and for more media information

Join Our E-mail List
Receive the latest news releases and other information from the NAIC Communications Division!


NAIC Web Site | State Insurance Department Sites | Copyright & Reprint Info | Privacy Statement ]

©2018 National Association of Insurance Commissioners. All rights reserved.